IMD issues thunderstorm alert for 12 Odisha districts


Bhubaneswar: The Regional Meteorological Department has issued thunderstorm warning for 12 districts of Odisha today.

As per the latest bulletin, thunderstorm accompanied with strong gusty winds is likely to hit as many as 12 districts in the state between 2.30 pm to 6.30 pm today.

Sundergarh, Jharsuguda, Bargarh, Bolangir, Nuapada, Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Sonepur, Boudh, Sambalpur, Keonjhar and Mayurbhanj are the districts that have been put on alert.

Latest doppler weather radar and satellite imageries indicate that thunderstorm accompanied with hail and gusty surface wind speed reaching 50 to 60 kmph likely to occur in several parts of the State, said a release issued by the Met department,” Bhubaneswar Meteorological Centre officials said.

People have been advised to remain alert as gusty surface wind reaching a speed of up to 50 to 60 KMPH is also likely to occur.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.