Electoral roll revision drive begins in Odisha today


Bhubaneswar: As per the direction of the election commission of India, special drive for revision of voter list began in the state today for the 2019 Lok Sabha and assembly elections.

The revision will continue till October 31 and clams and objections can be filed till the last date. The final voter list will be published after disposal of the claims and objections on January 4, 2019.

The first time voters or those who are intent to include their names in the voter list for the first time must attain the age of 18 years by January 1, 2019.  Besides, special emphasis will be given on enrolment of Persons with Disabilities (PwDs), women and vulnerable section of society in the voter list.

Similarly, dead persons and those who have migrated to other places will be identified and excluded from the voter list, said State Chief Electoral Officer Surendra Kumar.

Speaking to reporters at a press conference today he said, those who want to delete their names from voter list can fill up form No 7 and submit it to the booth level officer or sub-collector. Similarly, those who want to register their names in the new voter list will have to fill-up form No 6, attach a colour passport size photo and residence proof and submit the application to the concerned officer.

The CEO also directed all the political parties to appoint booth-level agents and apprise respective district election officers and the collectors. Besides, he urged people to ensure that their names are not repeated in the list of voters as it will attract a penalty or one year jail term or both.

Notably, the total number of polling stations in the state is 37606. The Draft Electoral Roll 2019 has a total of 3,12,52,333 voters.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.