Yogi Adityanath transfers 20 IAS officers in major administrative reshuffle


Lucknow: In the first major administrative reshuffle since taking over on March 19, Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath transferred 20 IAS officers on Monday. All officers considered close to the powers that be in the previous regime have been removed and put in the waiting list.

Three weeks into his term as Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister, Yogi Adityanath has initiated a major reshuffle of bureaucrats, transferring 20 senior IAS officers including Navneet Sehgal, who was Principal Secretary (Information) and was seen to be very powerful in the previous Akhilesh Yadav regime of the Samajwadi Party.

Two close aides of Akhilesh Yadav, Amor Kumar and Pandhari Yadav, have been removed and posted as members (Judicial) of the Revenue Board in Allahabad.
On his return from Central deputation, Avneesh Kumar Awasthi, widely believed to take over as Principal Secretary to Chief Minister, has been posted as Principal Secretary Information, Endowment, Director General of Tourism and Chief Executive Officer of UP Expressway Development Authority.

Excise Commissioner Mrityunjay Kumar Narayan will be Secretary to the Chief Minister and also hold charge of Estate department, Civil Aviation and Director of Cultural Affairs along with the charge of Excise department.

Officers close to the previous SP regime and who have been kept in waiting are Principal Secretary to Chief Minister, Estate and Excise departments Anita Singh, Principal Secretary of Information Navneet Kumar Sehgal.

While earlier chief ministers have removed senior bureaucrats from key posts immediately after taking charge, Yogi Adityanath waited for almost three weeks before his first major reshuffle. He took oath on March 19 after the BJP won the state by a landslide.

Among other changes, Rama Raman, Principal Secretary in Industrial and Infrastructure Development Department and Chairman of Noida Authority, has also been put in the list officers waiting for a new posting.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.