Colombo: Kumar Dharmasena, the on-field umpire in 2019 World Cup final, admitted on Sunday that he made a mistake by awarding an extra run to England during their final clash with New Zealand.
“I agree that there was a judgment error when I see it on TV replays now. But we did not have the luxury of TV replays at the ground and I will never regret the decision I made. Besides, the ICC praised me for the decision I made at that time. It’s easy for people to comment after seeing TV replays,” Dharmasena told to local Sunday Times.
“In this case, we were all happy that the batsmen had completed the second run because the ball ricocheted off Stokes’s bat at the time of him completing the second run. So, we assumed that they had crossed each other at the time of the fielder releases the ball,” he added.
Dharmasena, who was standing as head umpire, consulted leg umpire Marais Erasmus and added six runs to the England total following the incident four runs for the ball reaching the boundary plus two for running between the wickets. The 48-year-old added that according to the law, there was no provision to consult the third umpire on the incident.
With England chasing a target of 242 set by New Zealand in World Cup final, Stokes went for a double off the third ball of the final over with his team needing nine runs to win. But Martin Guptill’s throw from deep mid-wicket rebounded off a diving Stokes’ bat and ran away to the boundary.
A throw to the stumps deflected off the bat of a diving Ben Stokes as he tried to complete a second run and raced to the boundary, with Sri Lankan umpire Kumar Dharmasena awarding total six runs. Three balls later the scores at 50 overs were tied as England reached 241 all out replying to New Zealand’s 241-8. It took the nail-biting finale to a Super Over which again was tied but England lifted the trophy by virtue of having scored more boundaries.