Two writers from Odisha nominated for Kendriya Sahitya Akademi awards


Bhubaneswar: Two writers from Odisha have been nominated for the prestigious annual Kendriya Sahitya Akademi awards 2018.

Odia writer Birendra Mohanty has been selected for the literary award for his anthology of poems titled Rumku Jhuma. He will be conferred with ‘Bal Sahitya Puraskar’ for his writing at a special function on November 14.

Similarly, writer Jayadratha Suna will receive the ‘Yuva Puraskar’ for his book of poetry ‘Sosa’.

The Executive Board of the Sahitya Akademi which met on June 22 at Guwahati, under the Chairmanship of its President, Dr. Chandrashekhar Kambar approved the selection of 23 writers for the Sahitya Akademi Bal Sahitya Puraskar 2018, a press release issued by Sahitya Akademi said.

The books were selected on the basis of recommendations made by the Jury comprising of three members each in the concerned language in accordance with the rules and procedure laid down for the purpose.

The Award in the form of a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque and a cheque of Rs. 50,000/- will be presented to the awardees at a special function to be held on November 14, 2018, the release stated.

Similarly, the Akademi announced its annual Yuva Puraskar in 22 languages today. Ten books of poetry, seven of short stories, three of novels and one of play have won the Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar 2018.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.