Trivendra Singh Rawat to be Uttarakhand CM swearing-in tomorrow


Dehradun: The newly elected BJP legislators on Friday chose Trivendra Singh Rawat as leader of the BJP Legislature Party in Uttarakhand.

A former RSS Pracharak Trivendra Singh will be sworn in as the new Chief Minister of Uttarakhand on Saturday at Dehradun’s Parade Ground.

Besides Rawat, Satpal Maharaj and Prakash Pant were in the race for the Chief Minister’s post.

Rawat, defeated Congress’s Hira Singh Bisht in the Doiwala constituency with a margin of over 24,000 votes. This was his third win from the constituency, where he has contested elections since 2002.

The BJP registered a landslide victory in Uttarakhand winning 57 of the 70 seats.

However, an announcement on who will be Uttar Pradesh’s next chief minister is expected tomorrow.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.