Trivendra Singh Rawat sworn in as Uttarakhand CM


Dehradun: BJP eader Trivendra Singh Rawat was sworn in as Uttarakhand Chief Minister on Saturday.

Nine ministers also take oath in Rawat’s Cabinet. Satpal Maharaj, Harak Singh Rawat, Madan Kaushik, Arvind Pandey, Subodh Uniyal, Yashpal Arya, Prakash Pant, Rekha Arya and Dhan Singh Rawat were made Cabinet ministers.

Trivendra Singh Rawat was elected leader of the BJP Legislature Party on Friday.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah and a host of senior leaders Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Health Minister JP Nadda and Union Minister Uma Bharti attended the grand ceremony at the Parade Ground in Dehradun.

A former RSS Pracharak Trivendra Singh defeated Congress’s Hira Singh Bisht in the Doiwala constituency with a margin of over 24,000 votes. This was his third win from the constituency, where he has contested elections since 2002.

The BJP registered a landslide victory in Uttarakhand winning 57 of the 70 seats.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.