Thunderstorm, lightning alert for nine districts in Odisha


Bhubaneswar: The regional centre of the India Meteorological Department (IMD) here on Monday issued warning of thunderstorm and lightning for nine districts in Odisha.

The districts for which alert have been issued are Gajapati, Ganjam, Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Cuttack, Khurda, Bhubaneswar, Puri and Nayagarh.

“Latest doppler weather radar and satellite imageries indicate that thunderstorm accompanied with lightning and spells of rain likely to occur over the nine districts till 7.15 pm,” a bulletin of the Met Centre said.

The weatherman has also cautioned people in these districts to stay indoors and take shelter in buildings and other safe locations as a precautionary measure.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.