Thunderstorm, heavy rainfall alert for 16 Odisha districts


Bhubaneswar: The India Meteorological Department (IMD) regional centre here has again issued thunderstorm and lightning alert for 16 districts of Odisha.

The alert has been sounded for Sundergarh, Sambalpur, Jharsuguda, Balangir, Sonepur, Boudh, Kandhamal, Bargarh, Nuapada, Khurda, Puri, Cuttack, Jagatsinghpur, Deogarh, Kalahandi and Kendrapara till 2 pm today.

According to latest Doppler weather radar and satellite imageries, thunderstorm accompanied by lightning and an intense spell of rainfall would occur at various places across these districts, the Met office said.

Meanwhile, schools and anganwadi centres have remained closed as per the Odisha government’s direction due to incessant downpour. Besides, Collectors of four districts-Bhadrak, Kendrapada, Sundergarh and Kandhmal declared holiday for schools today.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.