Tamil Nadu crowned champions of fifth Vijay Hazare Trophy


New Delhi: India discard Dinesh Karthik hit a century to help Tamil Nadu clinch Vijay Hazare Trophy One-day Tournament here at Feroz Shah Kotla ground in Delhi today defeating Bengal by 37 runs.

Deciding to bat first after winning toss, Tamil Nadu did not have a good start, as they were reduced to 49 for 4 in 11 overs. Dinesh Karthik hit 112 off 120 balls with 14 fours. His team was all out for 217 on 47.3 overs.

In replay, Bengal didn’t have a good start as they lost two wickets for 4 in the fifth over. They kept on losing wickets at regular intervals and were folded out for 180 in 46 overs. Sudip Chaterjee scored 58 off 79 balls. For TN Aswin Christ, Rahil Shah and M Mohmmed took 2 wickets each.

Karthik was adjudged man of the match for his scintillating century in the final match that was postponed a day later from Sunday, following a fire break out on Friday, on which the second semifinal match between Bengal and Jharkhand had been scheduled earlier. The match was played on Saturday forcing the final to be postponed from Sunday.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.