T10 will modernise the sport: Shane Watson


Dubai: Shane Watson, who will be playing for The Karachians in the second edition of the T10 league, said that the new condensed format of the game would popularise the sport even more and increase the fan base.

The T10 League, which recently got recognised by the International Cricket Council (ICC), will be hosted in UAE from the November 23, 2018.

Watson was roped in by the team from Karachi as their icon player and will also lead the squad in the second edition of the tournament.

On his decision of being part of the league, Watson said, “I had spoken to some of the players who took part in the league last season, and they gave me some really positive feedback about the league. Just like how T20 cricket revolutionised the sport and honed the skills of a player, I think this innovation shall also bring about a positive impact on the sport and grow fan bases across the globe.”

The second edition of the T10 League has got bigger and better with the likes Darren Sammy, Brendon McCullum, Andre Russell, Rashid Khan, Chris Lynn, Eoin Morgan, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Sunil Narine along with Watson featuring in the event.

On being asked about the T10 format being incorporated into international calendar Watson said, “There’s already a lot of cricket going on currently so I don’t think the format will immediately make it to the international scheme of things, but having said that I think the T10 concept is very interesting and there’s always a space for introducing a new format to the sport to make it more interesting.”

He further said “just like how T20 cricket revolutionised the sport globally, I think T10 too will modernise the sport and will definitely be an exciting spectacle for the viewers.”

Notably, T10 League is the world’s first 10-over cricket league recognised by the International Cricket Council.

The league will have two more additional teams making it an eight-team league spread over eight days. Kerala Kings, Punjab Legends, Maratha Arabians, Bengal Tigers, The Karachians, Rajputs, Northern Warriors and Pakhtoons – have been drawn in to two groups to fight it out in the 2nd Season of T10 League from November 23 to December 2.

About T10 Cricket League

T10 Cricket League is a professional ten-over format Cricket League launched by T10 Sports Management. It is approved by the Emirates Cricket Board and the International Cricket Council. It is the first ever internationally ten-over format approved league.

Matches have 10-over-a-side format and duration of 90 minutes. The tournament is played over ten days, with a round robin followed by semi-finals and the final. The 2017 edition was played from 14-17 December at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.  In August 2018, the International Cricket Council (ICC) officially sanctioned the league.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.