Speculation rife over BJD’s candidate for Bijepur bypoll


Bhubaneswar: Even though no announcement of dates have yet been made regarding the Bijepur bypoll in Bargarh district by the election commission, the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has started necessitating preparatory steps to outwit the opposition.

The BJD’s Upper House MPs Prasanna Acharya and Pratab Keshari Deb, Minister Sushant Singh and Snehangini Chhuria and MLA Debesh Acharya were called on to Naveen Nivas today for having a discussion over the party’s strategy ahead of the Bijepur bypoll.

Meanwhile, speculation rife over party’s candidature for the Bijepur Assembly Constitution. It is speculated that either a family member of late Bijepur legislator Subal Sahu would get a chance or MP Prasanna Acharya will take the stand for the upcoming bypoll.

In the 2014 election, Sahu from Congress and Prasanna Acharya from BJD had a cutthroat contest and Sahu had won by a thin margin of 458 votes. The BJP had been in the third slot.

Late Sahu from Congress had got 53,290 (32.1 per cent) votes and BJD’s Acharya had got 52,832(31.88 per cent) votes in 2014 election. BJP’s Jayashankar Pattanayak had got 30,001 (18.10 per cent) votes.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.