Setback to MNS as 6 BMC corporators join Shiv Sena


Mumbai: The Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) suffered a big setback on Friday when six of its seven BMC corporators defected to rival Shiv Sena.

The corporators who left the party include MNS group leader Dilip Lande.

The MNS, which had emerged as a big player in 2012 Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation election after winning 29 seats, was reduced to just seven seats in 2017.

The party was struggling to retain its base in Mumbai.

On Wednesday, Lande accompanied MNS chief Raj Thackeray to meet civic body chief Ajoy Mehta where they demanded BMC to act strongly against illegal hawkers.

Shiv Sena MLC Anil Parab said, “they joined the party after completing all the legal process. We are far ahead than the BJP in the BMC.”

The latest defection is also a setback for the BJP which fell just two corporations short to clinch the BMC board.

Until Thursday, the Shiv Sena had 84 corporators while the BJP had 82 representatives in the BMC.

However, the defection has led Shiv Sena’s tally to 91.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.