Senior Women National Hockey: Four Including Odisha Register Victory


Hisar (Haryana): Action in the Senior Women National Hockey Championship continued on its 4th day with four teams including Odisha register victories in respective pools.

The day 4 of the tournament (A Division) saw Railway Sports Promotion Board, Hockey Odisha, Uttar Pradesh Hockey and Hockey Jharkhand register victories in their respective Pool matches, while Hockey Madhya Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy, Hockey Gangpur-Odisha and Chhattisgarh Hockey drew their matches here on Monday.

In Pool A, Railway Sports Promotion Board continued their fine form as they won their third match of the competition by beating Hockey Karnataka 4-0. Goals for the defending Champions were scored by Navneet Kaur (27′, 49′) and Gurjit Kaur (39′, 48′).

In the other Pool A encounter, it was Hockey Odisha who registered their first win as they beat Hockey Rajasthan 5-2 in an entertaining match. Goals for Hockey Odisha were scored by Tarsila Beck (43′, 49′, 60′), Sangeeta Rose Kullu (6′) and Ashim Barla (11′), while Raju Ranwa (15′, 40′) scored a brace for Hockey Rajasthan.

Pool B’s first match of the day saw Hockey Madhya Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy play out a competitive 1-1 draw. It was Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy who scored first as Prashu Singh Parihar scored for them in the 18th minute, but their lead was cut short by Hockey Madhya Pradesh’s Neelu Dadiya as she scored in the 36th minute.

In the other Pool B match, Hockey Gangpur-Odisha and Chhattisgarh Hockey also played out a draw as they finished with a 2-2 scoreline. Hockey Gangpur-Odisha cancelled Chhattisgarh Hockey’s lead twice in the match to split the points. Goals for Hockey Gangpur-Odisha were scored by Premanjali Toppo (39′, 56′), while Rushali Kasyap (36′) and Shashi Lakra (44′) scored for Chhattisgarh Hockey.

In Pool C, Uttar Pradesh Hockey registered their first win of the campaign as they defeated Hockey HIM 4-2. Goals for Uttar Pradesh Hockey were scored by B Sarita Devi Gandhi (4′), Komal Sahani (19′), Sonal Tiwari (28′) and Shreya Singh (57′), while Ranjita Minz (41′, 49′) scored a brace for Hockey HIM.

Pool D saw Hockey Jharkhand maintain their momentum as they registered their third consecutive win of the competition. The Pool-toppers beat Hockey Punjab by a slim margin of 2-1 to take the three points. Punam Barla (15′) and Birajini Ekka (49′) gave Hockey Jharkhand a 2-0 lead, while Hockey Punjab’s only goal came in the 60th minute through Priya.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.