Senior Women Hockey National: Odisha, Gangpur-Odisha & Kerala register victory


Hisar (Haryana): Action in the 9th Senior Women Hockey National Championship 2019 (A Division) continued here on Tuesday into its fifth day which saw Hockey Odisha, Hockey Gangpur-Odisha and Kerala Hockey register victories in their respective Pool matches, while Uttar Pradesh Hockey and Central Reserve Police Force drew their match.

In Pool A, Hockey Odisha played their last Pool encounter where they beat Hockey Coorg by a margin of 3-0, and stay in contention for a spot in the Quarter Finals as they go into the third spot currently with a tally of six points from four matches, while Hockey Coorg remained bottom with no wins. Goals for Hockey Odisha in their victory were scored by Asmita Barla (18′), Rashmita Minz (56′) and Khusbu Kujur (60′).

In Pool B, Hockey Gangpur-Odisha also played their last Pool match as they beat Hockey Bhopal 3-1 to register their first win of the competition. However, the win for Hockey Gangpur-Odisha took them only to a tally of four points from four matches, and they sit on the third spot in their Pool, while Hockey Bhopal remained winless. Goals for Hockey Gangpur-Odisha were scored by Captain Elin Lakra (3′, 51′) and Manisha Oram (56′), while Hockey Bhopal’s solitary goal was scored by Lanleibi Chanu (26′).

Pool C saw Uttar Pradesh Hockey and Central Reserve Police Force play out a 1-1 draw which saw them both remain with four points each in their Pool, however, Central Reserve Police Force still have a game in hand. In their match on Tuesday, it was Central Reserve Police Force who scored the first goal through Bharti Thakur in the 40th minute, but Uttar Pradesh Hockey was quick to equalize as they scored in the 43rd minute through Aqsa Mushabbar.

In Pool D, Kerala Hockey defeated Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu 5-3 to register their second win of the competition, while the latter finished their Pool stage with only three points on board. Goals for Kerala Hockey were scored by Captain P.S. Archana (12′), Anju Shaji (17′), KK Shahina (20′), S Sibya (47′) and KM Arya (50′), while R Nivetha (25′), M Nithyasri (31′) and S Malini (56′) scored in Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu’s loss.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.