Senior Congress leader Pranaya Sahu resigns


Bhubaneswar: Senior Congress leader from Bijepur, Pranaya Sahu on Monday resigned from the primary membership and all other posts he was serving under the party.

Sahu, tendered his resignation to OPCC president Niranjan Patnaik and AICC leadership today alleging that his requests are not taken into consideration by the State Congress.

On February 28, 2018, the ruling Biju Janata Dal wrested the Bijepur Assembly constituency from the Congress in the by-poll, with its candidate Rita Sahu defeating her nearest rival, Ashok Panigrahi of the BJP, by 41,933 votes. Pranaya Sahu of the Congress, which had held the seat three terms in a row, came third with 10,274 votes.

Sahu’s resignation is the third jolt to the OPCC in this month after Jharsuguda MLA Naba Das and Sundargarh MLA Jogesh Singh deserted the party. The Congress had yesterday expelled Koraput MLA Krushna Chandra Sagaria and Union Minister Srikant Jena for their alleged anti-party activities.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.