Ranji Trophy: Odisha beats Tripura by five wickets


Cuttack: Odisha defeated Tripura by five wickets in an Elite Group-C Ranji Trophy match played at DRIEMS ground in Cuttack on Saturday.

After winning the toss, Odisha decided to bowl first. Tripura managed to put up 122 runs as they were restricted by Suryakant Pradhan who picked 7 wickets.

Though Odisha lost wickets in quick succession, they succeeded in putting up 212 runs on board in their first innings. Captain Biplab Samantray was the top scorer with 89 runs.

However, the visitors made a comeback with 304 runs that set a target of 214 for Odisha.

In the second innings, Subhransu Senapati (84) and Abhishek Raut (89) helped the hosts chase and earn the win with 217 runs.

Earlier, Odisha secured a mammoth victory over Assam by nine wickets in a group stage match of the Ranji Trophy held at Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati.

With two back to back wins Odisha has moved up to the fourth position in the Elite Group C pool with 13 points.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.