PM Modi forms Economic Advisory Council with Bibek Debroy as chief


New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday reconstituted the Economic Advisory Council (EAC) to guide him on economic issues and appointed economist Bibek Debroy as its chairman. Debroy is a member of government think tank Niti Aayog.

The council has been defunct since former RBI governor C Rangarajan resigned as its chairman after the NDA came to power in 2014.

“The five-member council consists of economists of high repute and eminence,” a government release said. The four other part-time EAC members are Surjit Bhalla, Rathin Roy, Ashima Goyal and Ratan Watal.

EAC chairman Debroy was with the Centre for Policy Research till 2015 when he was brought in as a member of Niti Aayog. He has also headed a panel for restructuring the Indian Railways which submitted a report in 2015 suggesting doing away with a separate rail budget.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.