Pay Rs 50 fine for defecating in open


Bhubaneswar: People defecating in the open will have to pay a fine of Rs 50 each if they are caught by the local ward sanitation committee or the self-help groups of the Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation (BMC).

The decision to impose the penalty for open defecation was taken in the corporation meeting of the BMC on Friday, to give a boost to Swachh Bharat Abhiyan and make the capital city open defecation free. The proposal was unanimously passed by the Corporation.

This step will work as a catalyst to make the city open defecation free (ODF) and the legislation by the urban local body is also a prerequisite in this regard, for the ODF tag.

“In order to make people aware about the new legislation on the collection of penalty, awareness camps will also be organised across the city to keep the city clean,” said Mayor Ananta Narayan Jena.

During, the meeting corporators expressed their view against the mushrooming growth of Kalyan Mandaps (community halls) across the city, which ultimately create traffic jam and additional burden on the civic body in lifting the solid waste, they generate by holding various functions and social gatherings.

The Corporation has decided to make a survey of all Kalyan Mandaps across the State Capital through the Planning Wing of BMC in association with all the Zonal Deputy Commissioners, Corporators and officials. The nature of plan approval given to a Kalyan Mandap (whether residential or commercial) and the violations made through parking and encroachment irregularities would be taken into consideration.

Rs 20 crore for Water Body Conservation

Seven prominent water bodies inside BMC boundary will be restored with an investment plan of Rs 20 crore. While a DPR has already been prepared by an agency Multi Mantach, Odisha Urban Infrastructure Development Fund (OUIDF) will extend financial assistance in this regard. The project will be funded through grant, loan and share from BMC in the cost-sharing pattern of 45:45:10.

The water bodies to be covered under this restoration or conservation plan will include: Ananta Vasudev Purohit Pond Ward No. 19, Ghagudi Pond Ward No. 23, Jagamara Barabari Pond Ward No. 63, Jhara Pokhari Ward No. 62, Namrakani Pond Ward No. 65, Taria Pond Ward No. 23 and Nayapalli Haja Ward No. 37.

Drain de-silting and cleaning also featured in the discussion today. “The rest of nearly 15 to 20 percent will be finished very soon as we have asked our drainage team to work on war footing and make the drains and drainage channels free from any type of obstruction,” said the Mayor.

Temple Conservation

Odia Language, Literature, Culture and Tourism Minister Ashok Chandra Panda, asked the corporators to furnish the list of temples in their locality so that Rs 5 lakh per monument would be granted for their upkeep. He, however, clarified that the temples should be under public use and do not belong to private ownership.

Municipal Commissioner Dr. Krishan Kumar in his speech briefed about the progress of various projects under the Smart City Proposal. He explained at length about the Bhubaneswar Operations Centre, which would be the central command control centre for all city-based operations. He also spoke about the revamp in the pan-city public transport scenario, which would see radical changes before the coming World Cup Hockey.

BMC Standing Committees

Before the Corporation meeting BMC Standing Committee Chairman Election was held today in the conference hall. Following members were elected to head nine different Standing Committees.

Seikh Nizamuddin: Taxation, Finance and Accounts Standing Committee.

Biranchi Narayan Mohasupkar: Public Health, Electric Supply, Water Supply, Drainage and Environment Standing Committee.

Amaresh Jena: Public Works Standing Committee.

Naba Kishore Behera: Planning and Development Standing Committee.

Pranab Kishore Swain: Education Recreation and Culture Standing Committee.

Sanjaya Kumar Sethy: Licence and Appeals Standing Committee.

Samir Pradhan: Corporation Establishment Standing Committee.

Chhabi Dash: Social Justice Standing Committee and…

Kumarendra Mohapatra: Slum Resettlement Standing Committee.

Culture and Tourism Minister Ashok Chandra Panda, Deputy Mayor K. Shanti, Municipal Commissioner Dr. Krishan Kumar, Additional Commissioner Subham Saxena and senior officials from BMC, Bhubaneswar Smart City Limited, BDA, PHEO, PWD and other departments were in presence during the meeting.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.