Padma Shri awards presented to four Odias


New Delhi: President Pranab Mukherjee today conferred the Padma awards to personalities from various fields at the Rashtrapati Bhawan. Four Odias – Odissi guru Aruna Mohanty, Sambalpuri singer Jitendra Haripal, veteran film personality Sadhu Meher and eminent nephrologist Dr Mukut Minz received the Padma Shri awards.

The Padma awards were declared on the eve of Republic Day and brought much joy to the state with the four legends chosen for Padma Shri awards for contribution in their respective fields.

While Aruna Mohanty has won major awards like Mahari Award (1997), Sanjukta Panigrahi Memorial National Award (2001), Fellowship by Ministry of HRD, Government of India, and the prestigious Sangeet Natak Akademi Puraskar Award in 2010, Sadhu Meher is known for his role in many films including Ankur, Gharonda, Inkaar and so on. He had won the National Award for Best Actor in a supporting role for Ankur.

Jitendra Haripal has rendered over 1000 songs in Sambalpuri while his iconic song Rangabati made it to the music charts of even BBC. Dr Minz is presently the Director-Transplant Surgery at Fortis Hospital in Mohali before which he was with Postgraduate Institute of Medical Education and Research (PGIMER). He is an MBBS from VSS Medical College and Hospital, Burla.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.