OMC is official partner of Hockey Men’s World Cup 2018


Bhubaneswar: Odisha Mining Corporation Limited (OMC) will be an official partner for the prestigious Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup 2018 which is scheduled to be held at Kalinga Stadium here from November 28 – December 16.

OMC signed the agreement to come on board for the quadrennial event to continue their efforts of promoting development throughout the state of Odisha and to help promote the sport which is synonymous to Odisha.

Speaking on the development, Hockey India CEO Ms. Elena Norman said, “We are delighted to have Odisha Mining Corporation Limited as an Official Partner for the prestigious Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018.

“The biggest gainers from their support is the sport of hockey itself, the hockey fans and more importantly the players who will be taking part in the tournament. I would like to thank the Government of Odisha and the Odisha Mining Corporation Limited for coming forward to support the sport of hockey in the best way possible,” she added.

Speaking about the partnership, OMC Managing Director R. Vineel Krishna said, “It is a matter of great pride for Odisha Mining Corporation Limited and the Government of Odisha, to be able to support the sport of hockey, and the biggest tournament in the sport.

“This partnership further highlights the unparalleled dedication of OMC towards encouraging sports, and helping in developing the state of Odisha,” he added.

The Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup 2018 will be the 14th edition of the biggest tournament in Men’s Hockey and the third time that India will be hosting it after having organised it in 1982 in Bombay and in 2010 in New Delhi.

A total of sixteen nations will take part in the tournament which will see each team play three matches during the league stage over the span of twelve days before four cross-over matches take place on 10th and 11th December.

The knockout matches will take place on 12th, 13th, 15th and 16th as the teams will look to become the Champions of the prestigious quadrennial event which was won by Australia in 2014.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.