Official results of Panchayat polls published


Bhubaneswar: The State Election Commission has published the results officially with details of zilla parishad zones and winning candidate names.

As per the official results, of the 848 zones BJD has claimed 471 zones while BJP stunned all with 295 zones. Congress remained far behind with only 60 zones while independent candidates won 16 seats.

Accordingly, Poll result forecasts 17 districts for BJD, 8 districts for BJP and 1 district for Congress to form Zilla Parishads in upcoming days while it’s yet undecided in case of 4 districts.

The Polling held in five phases between Feb 13 and Feb 21 comprising 849 zilla parishad zones, 6,802 gram panchayats, 6,801 Panchayat Samiti members and 92,052 ward members. Fifty percent seats were reserved for women candidates in the election for the first time ever.

While gram panchayat head, panchayat samiti members and ward members contested the polling on other symbols, the zilla parishad zones were fought with party logos.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.