Odisha’s Pravakara Moharana, Gobaradhan Panika receive Padma Shri


Bhubaneswar: Odisha’s Pravakara Moharana and Gobardhan Panika today received Padma Awards from President Ram Nath Kovind.

The two Odia were among 84 persons, who have been named to receive the country’s highest civilian honours.

Moharana and Panika were conferred with Padma Shri for Art-sculpture and Art Weaving, respectively by the Indian President.

The function was held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan here with the attendance of Vice-President M Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his Ministerial colleagues.

This year, as many as 84 Padma awards were announced. The list comprises three Padma Vibhushan, nine Padma Bhushan and 72 Padma Shri awards.

The awards – Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri – are announced on the eve of the Republic Day every year.

Music composer Ilaiyaraaja, cricketer Mahendra Singh Dhoni and senior Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh ideologue P Parameswaran are among the 85 personalities who are being awarded 2018 Padma Awards by the Home Ministry.

One of the highest civilian Awards of the country, Padma Awards are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

The ‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field.

Here is the full list of Padma Awards winners:

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.