Odisha govt’s panel on Vidhan Parishad submits report to CM


Bhubaneswar: The special committee formed by the State government to study the functioning of the Legislative Councils in other States for formation of the Parishad in Odisha, submitted its report to Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Friday.

Transport Minister and Chairman of the committee Nrusingha Charan Sahu along with other members of the committee including Binharpur MLA Pramila Mallik, Nabarangpur MLA Manohar Randhari and state parliamentary affairs minister Bikram Aruk submitted the report to the chief minister.

The committee had visited Telangana and Bihar to study the functioning of the Legislative Councils there. Earlier the panel had visited Maharashtra and Karnataka states in 2015 for the same purpose.

Though details of the report are kept under the wrap, source said the committee in its seven-page report has recommended that the size of the legislative council should be one-third of the size of the state Assembly.

Notably, the State government had formed the committee headed by Transport Minister Nrusingha Charan Sahu. The panel constitutes of three members from the ruling BJD– Nrusingha Charan Sahu, Pramila Mallik and Manohar Randhari and two Opposition members of the Congress and BJP, respectively.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.