Odisha to establish Special Development Councils in 9 districts for tribal people


Bhubaneswar: In a development, the Odisha Cabinet today decided to establish Special Development Councils in 9 tribal dominated districts of Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, Sundargarh, Kandhamal, Gajapati, Koraput, Rayagada, Malkangiri and Nabarangpur.

This has been declared by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik in a press conference after concluding the Cabinet meeting in the State Secretariat here. The CM declared that the Councils will take up cultural, educational and economic development in harmony with the unique identity and ethics of the tribal people.

The CM said, “It is significant for the formation of these Councils as many tribal groups do not get represented directly in higher decision making forum”.

“These councils will have representation from every tribe present in the district and they will exercise decision making powers and the financial resources to preserve, develop their unique socio-cultural and economic capacities”, said the CM.

About Rs 1.5 crore will be allotted to each block under these councils and a total of Rs 175.50 crores will be spent per annum, through these councils, he added.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.