Odisha-born activist Manasi Pradhan to receive Women of Wonder 2018 award


Bhubaneswar: Odisha’s eminent women’s rights activist and author Manasi Pradhan has been nominated to be awarded with the coveted ‘Women of Wonder’ award 2018.

Other renowned women who are going to receive the award are Bollywood actress Deepika Padukone, Head of ICICI Bank Chanda Kochhar, renowned industrialist Kiran Majumdar Shaw, Bollywood producer Ekta Kapoor, Allahabad Bank Chairman Usha Ananthasubramanium, Indian women cricket captain Mithali Raj and Olympian Dipa Karmakar.

The award instituted by the Lions Clubs International in association with the Wockhardt Foundation and the Dibyaj Foundation will be conferred at a ceremony to be held on March 3 at the Mumbai Race Course.

Manasi Pradhan is the founder of the Honour for Women National Campaign, a nationwide movement to end violence against women in India.

Pradhan is frequently featured among world’s top activists and authors by prestigious international publications and organizations.

In 2016, the New York-based Bustle magazine named her among 20 most inspiring Feminists Authors and Activists along with Nobel Prize winners Shirin Ebadi, Rigoberta Menchu, Malala Yousafzai, Betty Friedan, Naomi Klein, Angela Davis, Kate Millett and Gloria Steinem.

In 2017, the Los Angeles-based Welker Media Inc. named her among 12 most powerful feminist change makers across the globe.

Besides, she was conferred with the prestigious Rani Lakshmibai Stree Shakti Puraskar in 2014 by the President at the Rashtrapati Bhawan. She has received numerous international and national awards including the Outstanding Women Award in 2011.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.