Nobel Prize 2018: Frances H. Arnold, George P. Smith, Sir Gregory Winter win in Chemistry


Stockholm: Frances H. Arnold, George P. Smith of the United States and Sir Gregory P. Winter of the United Kingdom were awarded the Nobel Prize 2018 in Chemistry on Wednesday for their work on evolutionary science.

The award was announced today by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences which honors researchers for advances in studying how molecules combine and interact. With this, it is the end of  year’s scientific Nobel Prizes.



Frances Arnold became the fifth woman to achieve the award after she discovered the first “directed evolution” of enzymes, which are proteins that catalyse chemical reactions. Enzymes produced through directed evolution are used to manufacture everything from biofuels to pharmaceuticals.

On the other hand, George Smith developed a method called phage display, where a bacteriophage – a virus that infects bacteria – can be used to evolve new proteins.

Likewise, Sir Gregory P. Winter used phage display to produce new pharmaceuticals. Phage display produces antibodies that can neutralise toxins, counteract autoimmune diseases and cure metastatic cancer.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.