NITI Aayog draws up 15 year roadmap


New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday chaired the third meeting of NITI Aayog’s Governing Council.

The third meeting of the council began at Rashtrapati Bhawan with the main agenda of deliberating on the 15-year Vision Document to accelerate the country’s economic development.

With around 30 Chief Ministers in attendance, the meeting is discussing the government strategy over the next seven years and a three-year action plan.

The meeting was attended Union Ministers, Chief Ministers of states, officials, members of NITI Aayog and special invitees.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal were among those who skipped Niti Aayog’s Governing Council meet.

PM Modi said at NITI Aayog meet that vision of ‘New India’ can be realised only through combined efforts of all states and chief ministers.

He added, “GST reflects the spirit of ‘one nation, one aspiration, one determination.”

Lauding the role of Chief Ministers in policy formation, PM Modi said this was the first time the Chief Ministers had been asked to recommend the list of Centrally sponsored schemes and the sharing pattern. They have given vital inputs on Centrally Sponsored Schemes, Swachh Bharat, Skill Development and Digital payments.

NITI Aayog’s vice-chairman Arvind Panagariya presented a roadmap for the rapid transformation of India by outlining key aspects of the 15-year Vision document, comprising the seven-year strategy document and the three-year action plan.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.