Naveen urges Odisha police to match global benchmarks


Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik urged the police officers to improve the conviction rate and solve complicated crimes by using modern technology speaking at the valedictory function of the three-day 60th Senior Police Officers’ Conference here on Thursday.

Patnaik cited the achievements of the State Government in disaster management that has got the UN appreciation and called upon the senior police officers to raise the standards of policing to match global benchmarks.

He said Odisha is fast emerging as a top destination of international investors because of stable law and order situation. Bhubaneswar is regarded as a safe and smart city internationally. Police deserve due credit for such distinctions and achievements. Police must be people-friendly with attitude to serve people. The resource constraints of the Police will be taken care to make it pro-people and efficient.

The Chief Minister released a book “Crime in Odisha-2016” and inaugurated the Mobile App “SAHAYATA” on the occasion.

DGP Dr RP Sharm lauded the support of the Chief Minister for police modernisation and infrastructural development of Odisha police during the last two decades. He spoke on infrastructural development of police, Commissioning of Commissionerate system of policing, a professional Economic Offence Wing, well-equipped Cyber Crime Units, well trained Special Operation Group, highly capable Special Intelligence Wing, a Coastal Security Wing, Ultra-modern DNA and Cyber Forensic Units and training facilities through BPSPA     in the last two decades. DGP said that there is hardly any area where Odisha police has not made substantial progress in last two decades.

The Chief Minister awarded Bhadrak district Superintendent of Police Anup Sahoo, who has recently been posted as the Deputy Commissioner of Police in Bhubaneswar, for excellent implementation of the Criminal Tracking and Networking System (CCTNS) programme while Angul SP Deshraj Meena was given the second prize.

For providing services to the people through the Odisha Police Citizen Portal, Cuttack Rural SP Madhav Chandra Sahoo was awarded the first prize while Kalahandi SP Madhav Sandeep Sampat was awarded the second prize.

Similarly, for the successful destruction of ganja plantations in the State, Kandhamal SP Mitrabhanu Mohapatra and Boudh SP Sudhanshu Sekhar were awarded for securing first and second positions, respectively.

Chief Secretary Aditya Prasad Padhi was also present.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.