Naveen congratulates 4 Odisha players for selection in Junior Team


Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Thursday congratulated four woman hockey prayers from Odisha for their selection in the 20-member Indian Junior team.

The four players from Odisha –Philicia Toppo, Mariana Kujur, Jiwan Kishori Toppo and Ajmina Kujur—included in Indian Junior Women’s Hockey Team for a four-match series against France to be played in Uttar Pradesh from February 8 to 13.

Taking to microblogging site Twitter, Patnaik wrote, “Congratulate #Odisha players-Philicia Toppo, Mariana Kujur, Jiwan Kishori Toppo, Ajmina Kujur for their selection in 20-member Indian Junior Women’s Hockey Team for the four-match home series against France. Best wishes to the team.”

The Indian Women’s team will be playing a total of four Matches against the French Women’s National Team in Lucknow and Gorakhpur, Uttar Pradesh.

The 20-member team consists of Goalkeepers Bichu Devi Kharibam and Khushboo, while Defenders Philicia Toppo, Gagandeep Kaur, Salima Tete, Priyanka, Suman Devi Thoudam and Ishika Choudhary. The midfield will be commanded by Mahima Choudhary, Prabhleen Kaur, Mariana Kujur, Reet, Baljeet Kaur and Preeti. Young Forward, Lalremsiami, who is a part of the Senior National Team for their Spain Tour 2019, will be leading the forward line along with Sharmila Devi, Mumtaz Khan, Jiwan Kishori Toppo, Ajmina Kujur and Jyoti.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.