Manohar Parrikar sworn as Chief Minister of Goa


Panaji: Manohar Parrikar was on Tuesday sworn in as the Goa chief minister for the fourth time. On Monday he resigned as the Defence Minister.

Nine ministers took oath as ministers in Parrikar cabinet.

Nine ministers were also sworn in during the ceremony, namely Sudin Dhavalikar and Manohar Azgaonkar of the Maharashtrawdi Gomantak Party, Vijai Sardesai, Vinod Palienkar and Jayesh Salgaonkar of the Goa Forward, Francis D’Souza, Pandurang Madkaikar of the BJP and Independent legislators Govind Gawde and Rohan Khaunte.

Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, Venkaiah Naidu and other senior BJP leaders were also presented at Goa Raj Bhavan for Manohar Parrikar’s swearing-in ceremony.

The BJP was invited to form the government in Goa despite winning fewer seats in the election than the Congress. That decision taken by Governor Mridula Sinha was challenged by the Congress in court. The Congress won 17 seats in the election; the BJP won 13, but secured the support of small regional parties.

Notably, earlier today the Supreme Court refused to stay the swearing in of BJP’s chief minister candidate Manohar Parrikar and ordered a floor test in the Goa Legislative Assembly on March 16.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.