Manipur Governor invites BJP to form Govt, Oath ceremony tomorrow


Imphal: Manipur Governor Najma Heptullah has invited the BJP to form government in the state. The BJP’s Nongthombam Biren Singh, who was elected leader of BJP Manipur legislature wing on Monday, will be sworn in as the 24th chief minister of Manipur on Wednesday.

Amit Shah and Union minister Jitendra Singh will attend the swearing-in ceremony sources said.

The BJP on Monday named Biren Singh as its chief ministerial candidate after the Governor said she was “satisfied” with the party’s numbers.

Biren Singh has elected to lead the 21 member BJP legislature party, Singh staked claim to form the government at the head of a motley coalition after outgoing Congress chief minister Okram Ibobi Singh resigned on Monday.

Biren has submitted to governor Najma Heptullah a list of 32 MLAs—Manipur has a 60-member assembly and letters of support from P A Sangma’s party NPP (4 MLAs), NPF (4), LJP (1), independent Ashab Uddin and T Robindro Singh, who won on a Trinamool ticket.

However, Congress, as the single largest party, is also in the race with 28 legislators.

Outgoing Congress chief minister Okram Ibobi Singh who submitted his resignation on Monday, has urged Governor Najma Heptullah to accept his claim to head the next government in Manipur on the basis of a letter of support from the 4-member NPP.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.