Malkangiri, Nuapada zilla parishad chairperson election on April 24


Bhubaneswar: The Malkangiri and Nuapada zilla parishad chairperson election that was not held due to Orissa High Court stay order will now be conducted on April 24. The vice chairperson elections of these two zilla parishads will be held on May 6.

The High Court has now lifted the stay order and directed to conduct the chairperson elections for the two zilla parishads and hence they will be conducted on April 24, informed state election commission secretary Rabindra Nath Sahu.

Of a total of 15 zilla parishad zones in Malkangiri, elections were conducted in 13 of which 10 were won by BJP candidates, 2 by Congress and and one by BJD candidate. Leading the numbers, BJP will will also claim the chairperson post. In Nuapada, elections were held in 13 of 14 zilla parishads of which BJD won 8 and Congress won 5. Hence BJD candidate will be elected as chairperson.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.