Justices Indira Banerjee, Vineet Saran, KM Joseph take oath in SC


New Delhi: Three new judges—Justices Indira Banerjee, Vineet Saran and K M Joseph—on Tuesday took oath as the Supreme Court judges.

Justice Banerjee, Saran and Joseph were administered the oath of the office by Chief Justice of India Dipak Misra in the Supreme Court. The three judges were administered the oath in a sequence as per the schedule of the Centre.

Justice Banerjee was administered the oath first, followed by Justice Saran and Justice Joseph. However, some senior judges of the Supreme Court raised objection over swearing in of Justice Joseph in the third place. The senior judges felt that Justice Joseph should be considered senior to the other two judges as his name was cleared by the collegium in January this year.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.