IMD issues thunderstorm warning for 16 Odisha districts


Bhubaneswar: The India Meteorological Department (IMD) regional centre here issued thunderstorm and lightning alert for 16 districts of Odisha today till 4.15 pm.

The districts have been put on alert are Bhadrak, Angul, Koraput, Keonjhar, Khurda, Puri, Mayurbhanj, Jagatsinghpur, Nayagarh, Balasore, Ganjam, Gajapati, Jajpur, Cuttack Rayagada and Dhenkanal.

The latest Doppler weather radar and images indicate that thunderstorm accompanied by hail and gusty surface wind speed reaching 50 to 60 kmph is likely to occur at these places, a bulletin issued by IMD read.

People in these districts have been advised not to venture outside.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.