Hurriyat leader Syed Ali Shah Geelani resigns as Tehreek-e-Hurriyat chairman


Srinagar: In a major development in the separatist camp, Kashmiri Separatist leader Syed Ali Shah Geelani has resigned as the Chairman of Tehreek-e-Hurriyat, Senior Hurriyat Leader Muhammad Ashraf Sehrai replaced Syed Ali Geelani as the chairman of the party on Monday.

According to the Hurriyat sources, TehreeK-e-Hurriyat led by Syed Ali Geelani held a meeting at its office in Srinagar and elected senior member Sehrai as the party chairman. 

Geelani, however, will continue to remain the chairman of his faction of Hurriyat Conference. The replacement is seen as a major development and it would also rest all speculations that who would lead separatist movement after aged Geelani.

Former Jammu and Kashmir Omar Abdullah has long blamed Geelani for the rise in militancy and bloodshed in Kashmir Valley, while Omar’s father and former Union Minister Farooq Abdullah has urged Geelani to follow a path which would “save Kashmiri people from further destruction”.

He was an MLA from the Sopore constituency of Jammu and Kashmir three times (1972, 1977 and 1987).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.