Hockey India names 24 campers for junior men’s national camp


New Delhi: Hockey India on Sunday named the 24 Junior Men campers for the Indian Junior Men’s National Coaching Camp to begin on 17 September 2018 at Sports Authority of India, Bengaluru.

The players will train under Coach Jude Felix till 4 October 2018 as they prepare for the upcoming 8th Sultan of Johor Cup 2018 which will be held from 6th – 13th October 2018 in Johor Bahru, Malaysia.

Eight members from the Indian Junior Men’s team that won the Bronze Medal at the 7th Sultan of Johor Cup 2017 have been selected for the National Camp which includes Pankaj Kumar Rajak, Suman Beck, Harmanjit Singh, Mandeep Mor, Varinder Singh, Vishal Antil, Shilanand Lakra and Abhishek.

While there are several new faces who have also received their first call-up to the Junior National Camp. The camp will give a chance to all the 24 players to show their talent and vie for a place in the final 18-member squad that leaves for the 8th Sultan of Johor Cup.

Coach Jude Felix has watched all the 24 players closely before giving them a call-up to the National Camp and the former Indian Captain believes that it is crucial to train the upcoming crop of players well.

“We have selected these campers focusing on creating a team which can represent the Senior team in the coming years. Each of the 24 players are dynamic and have the capability of representing the National team, therefore it is important for us to condition these players in a way that they help the country in becoming one of the best teams in the world,” Felix said.

“Our focus will be on setting up a strong structured team, and understanding the right mix of 18 players who can help our team in producing our best performance at the 8th Sultan of Johor Cup in Malaysia,” he added.

He said special emphasis is placed on improving our skills, fitness, speed, mental conditioning and other key aspects of the game.

The 24-member squad

Goalkeepers: Pankaj Kumar Rajak, Kamalbir Singh

Defenders: Suman Beck, Mohd Faraz, Somjeet, Mandeep Mor, Parampreet Singh, Prince, Varinder Singh, Lugun Cyril

Midfielders: Gregory Xess, Yashdeep Siwach, Harmanjit Singh, Vishnu Kant Singh, Gopi Kumar Sonkar, Vishal Antil, Haspreet Singh

Forwards: Gursahabjit Singh, Amandeep Singh, Abhilash Stalin, Abhishek, H Mani Singh, Prabhjot Singh, Shilanand Lakra

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.