Harry Kane and “The curse of the Golden Boot”


The Golden Boot award is given to the football player who scores the maximum number of goals in the football world cup. The award gives a player unquestioned prestige at the world stage since he has managed to score more goals than the worlds best at the best football event of the world. If two players score the same number of goals then it goes to the player with less penalty kicked goals. If both players have no penalty goals then it goes to the player with more assists and if there is tie here as well then it goes to the player who has been on the ground for lesser time.

England football captain Harry Kane is likely to win the Golden Boot award in the 2018 Fifa World Cup. The award, first called as Golden Shoe Award was first started in 1982 when the World Cup was won by Italy and the Golden boot (shoe) award was won by Paolo Rossi who scored six goals for his country. The only other player who won the Golden Boot award while his team lifted the World Cup was Brazilian Ronaldo who scored 8 goals in 2002.

Apart from Rossi and Ronaldo, no other player has won both the Golden Boot and the World Cup in the same year. Let’s take a quick look at the footballer who won the golden boot award, the country he plays for and the country which won the world cup.

Year                    Name of Golden Boot winner               Country                  Name of country which won World Cup

(No. of goals)

1982                             Paolo Rossi        (6)                          Italy                                                Italy

1986                             Gary Linekar       (6)                        England                                         Argentina

1990                             Schillachi            (6)                           Italy                                              Germany

1994                             Oleg Salenko      (6)                          Russia                                             Brazil

Stoichkov            (6)                         Bulgaria                                           Brazil

1998                             Davor Suker        (6)                          Croatia                                            France

2002                             Ronaldo               (8)                          Brazil                                               Brazil

2006                             Miroslav Klose     (6)                        Germany                                         France

2010                             Thomas Muller    (5)                        Germany                                          Spain

2014                              James Rodriguez(6)                        Columbia                                        Germany

If one sees the list above, one can make out that in 1994, 2 players shared the award. This was because both Salenko and Stoichkov had the same number of goals, had one penalty each and also had the same number of assists. Much later in 2006 the rule was started that the one on the field for lesser time will get it.

Salenko has several records to his credit. He has 5 goals in one game, he is the only Golden boot winner from a team which went out in 1st round, the six goals scored by him are the only 6 goals he has scored for his country and he is the only player to win Golden boot in both U20 World Cup and the FIFA world cup.

Linekar, who shares his birthday with Winston Churchill had once a remark in report card “Concentrates too much on football, will never make a living out of that”. In a long career of 16 years and 567 games, he never received a yellow or a red card.

After the above trivia journey through the history of the golden shoes/golden boot award and some of the winners let us look at the present tournament. Kane leads with 6 goals followed by Romelu Lukaku of Belgium with 4. There is thus the outside chance that Lukaku may pip Kane, but even so, theirs is not going to be the world cup winning team, as it is the battle for the third place between both the teams. So (with exception of Rossi and Ronaldo), will the Curse of the Golden boot continue.

Or, will the explosive Kylian Mbappe conjure up a hatrick in France’s final versus Croatia to join Harry Kane with 6 goals in the golden boot race.

Looking forward to an entertaining 3rd place match, before the one everyone is eagerly waiting for- France versus Croatia to determine the FIFA World Cup winner 2018. May the best team win.


About author

The blogger, Ritesh Misra, is an IRS Officer currently based in Mumbai. He tweets @riteshmisra. His hobbies are sports, films and music.


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed in this article are the personal opinions of the author. The facts and opinions appearing in the article do not reflect the views of Pragativadi.com and Pragativadi.com does not assume any responsibility or liability for the same.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.