Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Awards Festival from September 5


Bhubaneswar: The Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Award 2017 will be awarded to two eminent personalities, Guru Dhruba Charan Biswal in the field of Odissi dance and Shyamamani Devi in the field of classical music.

This year, the Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Awards festival will be organised by Srjan from September 5 to 9 in Bhubaneswar. Informing this to media on Tuesday, Director of Srjan Ratikanta Mohapatra said this year, NALCO Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Yuva Pratibha Samman will be presented to both Lingaraj Pradhan and Namrata Mehta for Odissi dance, besides Jyotsna Jagannathan for Bharatnatyam and Jateen Kumar Sahoo for Odissi music.

The festival will witness performances by popular classical artists from within and outside the State.

The highlight would be a special presentation by dancers of the host organisation, Mahanayaka Bijayananda, which is a thematic presentation in Odissi dance on the life of Biju Patnaik.

The audio visual production and choreography have been done by Mohapatra. “Srjan had started the festival as a single-day event in 1995.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.