Four Odia players in Indian Women’s Hockey squad for CWG 2018


New Delhi: Four players from Odisha have been picked up in the Indian Women Hockey team to take part in the upcoming Gold Coast Commonwealth Games-2018.

The 18-member women’s squad for the prestigious competition was announced by Hockey India today in which Deep Grace Ekka, Namita Toppo, Sunita Lakra and Lilima Minz from the state have found place in the Indian squad.

While Sunita Lakra and Deep Grace Ekka play as defenders, Namita Toppo and Lilima Minz play as Midfielders.

Amit Rohidas, a native of Saunamara village in Sundergarh district, was earlier yesterday selected in Indian Men’s Hockey team for the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games.

Ace striker Rani Rampal will captain the 8-strong Indian women’s team, while experienced goalkeeper Savita will shoulder the duties of vice-captain during the Commonwealth Games which is scheduled to be played in Gold Coast in Australia from April 4 to April 15.

The Indian team, currently ranked No-10 in the world, has been grouped in Pool-A along with England, South Africa, Malaysia and Wales. They will begin their completion against Wales on April 5.

The Indian Women’s Hockey team had won the gold medal at the 2002 Commonwealth Games in England after defeating the hosts 3-2 after extra-time in the final match, and bagged the silver medal in the subsequent 2006 Commonwealth Games in Australia. However, the team has only managed to finish 5th in the 2010 and 2014 editions of the quadrennial tournament.


Goalkeepers: Savita (VC), Rajani Etimarpu

Defenders: Deepika, Sunita Lakra, Deep Grace Ekka, Gurjit Kaur, Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam

Midfielders: Monika, Namita Toppo, Nikki Pradhan, Neha Goyal, Lilima Minz

Forwards: Rani (C), Vandana Katariya, Lalremsiami, Navjot Kaur, Navneet Kaur, Poonam Rani

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.