Four HC Chief Justices sworn in as Supreme Court judges


New Delhi: Four High court Chief Justices were sworn in as judges of the Supreme Court on Friday. With these appointments, the working strength of the Supreme Court has risen to 28 against the sanctioned strength of 31.

The four new judges are Justices Hemant Gupta, Ajay Rastogi, MR Shah, and R Subhash Reddy.

The swearing-in ceremony started at 10:30 am in the apex court and Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi administered the oath of office to the four judges.

The president on Thursday gave his consent to the recommendation of the Supreme Court Collegium for elevation of Gupta, Reddy, Shah, and Rastogi as apex court judges.

Notably, Justice Gupta was the chief justice of the Madhya Pradesh High Court while Justice Reddy was the Gujarat High Court’s chief justice. Similarly, Justice Shah was the chief justice of the Patna High Court and Justice Rastogi was the chief justice of the Tripura High Court.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.