Four from Odisha in Indian women’s hockey squad for World Cup


Bhubaneswar: Four players from Odisha have been included in the 18-member squad for the Women’s Hockey World Cup to be played in London next month.

They are defenders Deep Grace Ekka and Sunita Lakra, and midfielders Namita Toppo and Lilima Minz.

Forward Rani Rampal has named as the captain of India’s squad for the prestigious tournament which is slated to begin on July 21.

India have been placed in Pool B alongside hosts and world no. 2 England, world no. 7 USA and world no. 16 Ireland.

While experienced Rani will lead the team, goalkeeper Savita has been named as her deputy.

Indian women’s team:

Goalkeepers: Savita (Vice-Captain), Rajani Etimarpu

Defenders: Sunita Lakra, Deep Grace Ekka, Deepika, Gurjit Kaur, Reena Khokhar

Midfielders: Namita Toppo, Lilima Minz, Monika, Neha Goyal, Navjot Kaur, Nikki Pradhan

Forwards: Rani (Captain), Vandana Katariya, Navneet Kaur, Lalremsiami, Udita.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.