Elections to 59 Rajya Sabha seats, three from Odisha, to be held on 23 March


New Delhi/Bhubaneswar: The Election Commission (EC) on Friday announced elections to 58 Rajya Sabha seats, Including three seats from Odisha, due to retirement and another seat on a casual vacancy, to be held next month.

Both polling and counting of votes will take place on 23 March.

“The term of office of 58 members of the Rajya Sabha elected from 16 States is due to expire on their retirement in April-May 2018,” a release by the EC said, announcing the schedule.

There is also a casual vacancy in Kerala owing to the resignation of M.P. Veerendra Kumar before the expiration of his term.

“Adequate measures for close monitoring of the election process by appointing observers shall be taken to ensure free and fair election,” the EC added.

The issue of notification of the polls will take place on 5 March. The last date for filing nominations is 12 March, scrutiny will take place on 13 March and the last date of withdrawing nominations is 15 March, according to the EC.

“The Commission has directed that for the purpose of marking preference(s) on the ballot paper only integrated violet colour sketch pen(s) of pre-fixed specification, provided by the Returning Officer, shall be used. No other pen shall, under any circumstances, be used in the above said elections,” the release by the EC said.

A U Singhdeo and Dilip Tirkey from BJD and A V Swami (BJD supported Independent) representing Odisha in the Rajya Sabha will be retiring on April 3, this year.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.