EC announces poll schedule for 5 states, counting of votes in Dec 11


New Delhi: The Election Commission of India on Saturday announced that the Assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Telangana, and Mizoram will be held simultaneously before December 15. Votes will be counted simultaneously in the five states on December 11.

In Chhattisgarh, the first phase voting will take place on November 12 and the second phase on November 20. While Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram will vote on November 28, assembly elections in Rajasthan and Telangana will be held on December 7.

With this announcement today, the model code of conduct comes into force, said Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat.

Of the five states, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Chhattisgarh are ruled by Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) while in Mizoram Congress is in power.

Mizoram’s 50-member house expires on December 15. Chhattisgarh’s 90-member house ends on January 5, next year. The tenure of 230-member Madhya Pradesh house expires on January 7, 2019, while 200-member Rajasthan house expires on January 20, 2019.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.