Dharmendra Pradhan, 40 others take oath as Rajya Sabha MPs


New Delhi: Union Ministers Dharmendra Pradhan, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Prakash Javadekar and Jagat Prakash Nadda were among the 41 newly-elected Rajya Sabha MPs who took the oath on Tuesday.

Of the 58 members elected from 15 states in elections last month, 41 took oath of affirmation.

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, who was re-elected to the Upper House from Uttar Pradesh and members elected from Rajasthan, Telangana and Odisha did not take the oath on Tuesday.

Members after taking oath walked up to Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu who warmly welcomed them with a hand shake.

Thereafter, they signed the members’ register and then greeted Prime Minister Narendra Modi, other senior ministers and opposition leaders present in the House.

Naidu said as many as nine languages were used to take the oath, reflecting India’s linguistic heritage. He hoped the newly elected members and re-elected members would raise people-oriented issues and enhance the dignity and prestige of the House.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.