Deepanjali Bhorasagar elected as Attabira NAC chairperson unopposed


Sambalpur: Deepanjali Bhorasagar was elected as the second chairperson of Attabira Notified Area Council (NAC) unanimously by the newly elected members of NAC on Thursday.

She was elected to the Council from Ward No. 3 and her name as chairperson was declared by Bargarh Sub- Collector Biswajit Mohapatra. BJD had a thumping victory with winning winning all the 12 NAC Wards and there was no scope for any opposition or contest.

State Handloom and Textiles Minister and Attabira MLA Snehangini Chhuria, who led the BJD campaign in the NAC election was present on the occasion.

The NAC, which has 13,205 voters, saw 38 candidates in the fray with the three major political parties putting up candidates in all the 12 Wards besides presence of two Independent candidates. The BJP, besides the Congress which had formed the outgoing Council, failed to open their account.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.