Cabinet Rejig: Four Ministers of State swear in as Cabinet Ministers


New Delhi: In a major Union Cabinet reshuffle, four ministers were promoted to Cabinet rank and nine new ministers are taking oath at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. The focus is on who PM Modi will pick to be the new Defence and Railways ministers. PM Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah met the new ministers this morning ahead of the oath ceremony.

Four new faces, who are inducted in the council of ministers, include four former bureaucrats, suggesting an admission of abysmal talent crunch in the BJP ranks.

The four are former Union home secretary R K Singh, former Mumbai Commissioner of Police Satyapal Singh, former diplomat Hardeep Singh Puri, and retired IAS officer KJ Alphons Kannanthanam. The five other new faces include MPs Ashwini Choubey from Bihar and Anant Kumar Hegde from Karnataka. The others to be inducted are Shiv Pratap Shukla, a Rajya Sabha member from Uttar Pradesh; Virendra Kumar, a Scheduled Caste member of Lok Sabha from Madhya Pradesh; and Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, a Lok Sabha member from Rajasthan.

The swearing-in ceremony saw the elevation of four MoS to cabinet rank and the induction of nine new MoS rank ministers. The ministers of state, who were sworn in as Cabinet Ministers are Dharmendra Pradhan, Piyush Goyal, Nirmala Sitharaman and Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi.



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.