Bypoll bribery case: EC directs FIR against CM Palaniswami, Dinakaran


New Delhi:  The Election Commission (EC) on Sunday directed an FIR to be registered against Tamil Nadu chief minister Edappadi K Palaniswami, health minister C Vijayabaskar, AIADMK deputy general secretary TTV Dinakaran and others in connection to the R K Nagar bypoll bribery case.

The EC’s decision came in response to an RTI query demanding probe into alleged incident of “distributing money to voters” in R K Nagar ahead of bypolls on April 12, a video of which went viral.

In a raid at AIADMK leader Vijayabaskar’s residence, I-T officials had seized documents which showed that close to Rs 90 crore was to distributed to voters in R K Nagar constituency.

The by-elections in R K Nagar became necessary after the death of former chief minister J Jayalalithaa, who represented it for two terms.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.