BJP to rule Tripura, workers burst into celebrations


Agartala: Putting up a remarkable show, the BJP and its alliance partner, Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura, surged ahead of the CPM-led Left Front as votes were counted for the state’s 59 assembly constituencies on Saturday.

Polling was cancelled in one constituency in the 60-member assembly after the death of a CPI-M candidate a week before the February 18 election.

“It is a historic verdict. CPM gave a spirited fight but people have voted for poribortan (change), accepted our slogan of ‘Chalo Paltai (let’s change),” senior BJP leader Ram Madhav told reporters.

For a long time after counting began, the Left and the BJP were locked in a neck-and-neck battle.

Manik Sarkar has won in his own constituency Dhanpur.

Jubilant BJP workers burst into celebrations around 11 am, when the situation finally seemed to vastly favour their party.

BJP leaders say their key strategy for the state pitted the Manik Sarkar government against “Modi sarkar”.

Working meticulously through the Left bastion, the BJP assigned a worker for every 60 voters during its campaign.

The Left has ruled Tripura for the past 25 years.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.