Biren Singh wins trust vote in Manipur Assembly


Imphal: The N Biren Singh government has won the crucial trust vote in Manipur, with the support of 32 MLAs in the 60-member Assembly.

The Congress, which won 28 seats, has been unable to get the support of three legislators it needs to prove majority.

The BJP has 21 MLAs in the 60-Member house. It has the support of four MLAs of Naga Peoples’ Front (NPF), four of National Peoples’ Party (NPP), the lone MLA of Lokjanshakti Party and Independent MLA Asab Uddin besides a Congress legislator who was inducted also in the Council of Ministers.

On Wednesday, eight other ministers from the BJP and its alliance partners also took oath along with the chief minister. Y Joykumar of NPP has been designated as the Deputy Chief Minister.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.